Nominated by:

Richland Library, Columbia, USA

Publisher of nominated edition:

Orbit, UK

The Stone Sky

N.K. Jemisin      

Essun has inherited the phenomenal power of Alabaster Tenring. With it, she hopes to find her daughter Nassun and forge a world in which every outcast child can grow up safe. For Nassun, her mother’s mastery of the Obelisk Gate comes too late. She has seen the evil of the world, and accepted what her mother will not admit: that sometimes what is corrupt cannot be cleansed, only destroyed.

The Broken Earth trilogy begins with The Fifth Season , continues in The Obelisk Gate and concludes with The Stone Sky. Praise for this trilogy: ‘Amazing’ Ann Leckie ‘Breaks uncharted ground’ Library Journal ‘Beautiful’ Nnedi Okorafor ‘Astounding’ NPR ‘Brilliant’ Washington Post.

About the author

N.K. Jemisin is an author of speculative fiction short stories and novels who lives and writes in Brooklyn, NY. Her work has been multiply nominated for the Hugo, the Nebula, and the World Fantasy Award; shortlisted for the Crawford, the Gemmell Morningstar, and the Tiptree; and she has won a Locus Award for Best First Novel as well as several Romantic Times Reviewer’s Choice Awards.  In 2016, she became the first black person to win the Best Novel Hugo for The Fifth Season. In 2017, she won Best Novel again, for The Obelisk Gate.

(from publisher)

Librarian’s comments:

The concluding volume of Jemisin’s Broken Earth Trilogy goes out with a bang! This book is extraordinary – imaginative, heartbreaking and very satisfying. It’s easy to start a fantasy series and much harder to end one; Jemisin does it with style and heart.

Related Entries