Nominated by:

Lisbon Central Library, Portugal

Publisher of nominated edition:

Weidenfeld & Nicolson, UK

The Prisoner of Heaven

Carlos Ruiz Zafón      

Translated from the original Spanish by Lucia Graves

2014 Longlist

The Prisoner of Heaven returns to the world of The Shadow of the Wind.

It begins just before Christmas in Barcelona in 1957, one year after Daniel and Bea have married. They now have a son, Julian, and are living with Daniel’s father at Sempere & Sons. Fermin still works with them and is busy preparing for his wedding to Bernarda in the New Year. However something appears to be bothering him.

Daniel is alone in the shop one morning when a mysterious figure with a pronounced limp enters. He spots one of their most precious volumes that is kept locked in a glass cabinet, a beautiful and unique illustrated edition of The Count of Monte Christo. Despite the fact that the stranger seems to care little for books, he wants to buy this expensive edition. Then, to Daniel’s surprise, the man inscribes the book with the words ‘To Fermin Romero de Torres, who came back from the dead and who holds the key to the future’. This visit leads back to a story of imprisonment, betrayal and the return of a deadly rival…

(From Publisher)

About the Author

Carlos Ruiz Zafón is the author of six novels, including the international phenomenon The Shadow of the Wind, and The Angel’s Game. His work has been published in more than forty different languages, and honoured with numerous international awards. He divides his time between Barcelona, Spain, and Los Angeles, California.

Librarian’s Comments

Carlos Ruiz Zafón is one of the most beloved authors having delighted faithfull followers with his utterly compelling and descriptive writing.

Related Entries