Nominated by:

Timaru District Libraries, New Zealand

Publisher of nominated edition:

Sphere, UK

Memoirs of an Imaginary Friend

Matthew Green      

2014 Longlist

For readers who loved Room and The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time: a heartwarming, heartbreaking story of love, loyalty and the power of the imagination – a novel perfect for anyone who ever had a friend . . . real or otherwise. Goodreads finalist 2012 as voted by over 1 million readers.
My name is Budo.
I have been alive for 5 years.
5 years is a very long time for someone like me to be alive.
Max gave me my name. Max is 8 years old.
He is the only human person who can see me.
I know what Max knows, and some things he doesn’t.
I know that Max is in danger.
And I know that I am the only one who can save him.

(From Publisher)

About the Author

Matthew Green is a schoolteacher with Teacher of the Year credentials to his name. He has one Master’s degree and is working on a second. He lives in Connecticut with his wife and daughter, plus a dog and cat.

Librarian’s Comments

A touching, soul-searching insight into the worlds of imaginary friend Budo and his human creator Max. This cleverly imagined novel explores the power and challenges of unconditional friendship, loyalty and existence, capturing the reader with elements of both whimsy and deep insight throughout.

Related Entries