Nominated by:

The State Library of Victoria, Melbourne, Australia

Publisher of nominated edition:

HarperCollins Australia

Forever Young

Steven Carroll      

2017 Longlist

Forever Young is set against the tumultuous period of change and uncertainty that was Australia in 1977. Whitlam is about to lose the federal election, and things will never be the same again, the times they are a’changing. Radicals have become conservatives, idealism is giving way to realism, relationships are falling apart, and Michael is finally coming to accept that he will never be a rock and roll musician.

A subtle and graceful exploration of the passage of time and our yearning for the seeming simplicities of the past.

(from publisher)

About the Author

Steven Carroll went to La Trobe University and taught English in high schools before playing in bands in the 1970s. After leaving the music scene he wrote plays and became theatre critic for the Sunday Age. He is the author of The Gift of Speed and The Art of the Engine Driver, shortlisted for the Miles Franklin Award in 2002 and 2005, respectively, and The Time We Have Taken, for which he won the 2008 Miles Franklin Award and also the Commonwealth Writers’ Prize for Best Book in the South-East Asia and South Pacific region. He lives in Melbourne with his partner and son.

Librarian’s Comments

Forever Young was selected by Victoria public librarian vote from a list of nominations compiled by the State Library of Victoria.

Related Entries