The 2019 Longlist is announced!

Press releases

Video highlights from the 2019 longlist announcement


Shortlist - 4th April

Winner - 12th June

  • Judges, Lord Mayor and Brendan Teeling

  • Alan McMonagle, Peter Cunningham and John Boyne

  • Longlist announcement photo gallery

  • The judges of the 2019 award

  • Readers picking their book from the 2019 longlist

The Longlist

About the Award

  • Nomination Process

    Books are nominated  for the Award by invited public libraries in cities throughout the world - making the Award unique in its coverage of international fiction. Titles are nominated on the basis of 'high literary merit' as determined by the nominating library.

  • The Judges

    Each year a panel of distinguished international judges is put in place under a non-voting chair. They have the epic task of considering each book from the longlist and narrowing it down to a shortlist of up to 10 titles. They must then enter deliberations to come up with the final winner by June of each year.

  • The Prize

    The Award is given annually. The prize of €100,000 is awarded to the author of the winning book. However, if the winning book is in English translation, €75,000 is awarded to the author and €25,000 to the translator.

  • Dublin City Council

    Brought to you by

    Dublin City Council

    UNESCO City of Literature